Teddy Mazina

Biography

Born in 1972 in Bujumbura, Teddy Mazina studied law at the National University. He is an committed photographer and journalist, concerned with conserving a testimony through imagery of the turbulent and bloody history of his country. Additionally, he created OJF, an NGO that fights for human rights in Burundi.

 

Returning to Burundi after a long period of political exile in Belgium from 1995 to 2007, he was once again confronted with the brutal reality and decided to engage in sociopolitical photography, labeling himself as a “memory activist.”

 

Beyond his fight for peace and democracy, he also promotes freedom of expression. He is a cofounder of the electoral image bank “Piga Picha 2010,” a movement that supports independent photography in Burundi.

 

Through his emotionally charged photographs, he attempts to fight indifference and encourage civic consciousness. In 2015, his first photography book, “Des Tambours sur loreille dun sourd / Burundi was published by Africalia, three years after his first photography exhibition, at the Institut français in Bujumbura.

History with AAD

Teddy Mazina

Biographie

Né en 1972 à Bujumbura où il commence des études de droit à l’Université Nationale et crée l’OJF, une ONG qui lutte pour les Droits de l’Homme au Burundi, Teddy Mazina est un photographe engagé et un journaliste, soucieux de conserver un témoignage en images de l’histoire mouvementée et meurtrière de son pays.

 

De retour au Burundi après un long exil politique en Belgique de 1995 à 2007, il est de nouveau confronté à la réalité brutale des événements et décide alors de se lancer dans la photographie d’actualité sociopolitique, se définissant lui-même comme « activiste de la mémoire ».

 

Au delà de sa lutte en faveur de la paix et de la démocratie, il est une figure de la promotion de la liberté d’expression, et a co-fondé la banque d’images électorales Piga Picha 2010, un mouvement pour l’image indépendante au Burundi.

 

À travers ses clichés chargés d’émotions multiples, il tente de combattre l’indifférence face à la mort et d’encourager la conscience civique. En 2015, son premier livre de photos, Des Tambours sur loreille dun sourd / Burundi est publié aux éditions Africalia, soit trois ans après sa première exposition photographique organisée à l’Institut français de Bujumbura.

Histoire avec AAD