Athi-Patra Ruga

Biography

Born in Umtata in 1984, Athi-Patra Ruga lives and works in Johannesburg and Cape Town, South Africa. After his initiation to art at Belgravia Art College in London, he pursued his studies at the Gordon Flack-Davidson Design Academy, where he specialized in fashion design.

 

Athi-Patra Ruga is a multidisciplinary artist at the crossroads of fashion and contemporary art. He questions the notions of identity, alienation, and the symbiosis between the body and soul. His performances, videos, photographs and textile creations bring the viewer into a subversive and fantastic universe that is colored with provocation and eroticism.

 

As a renowned artist within the South African art scene, his work has been presented at major international events, among these, the 55th Venice Biennale and the Dakar Biennale in 2008. Additionally, Under Tinsel Sun was shown at the 3rd Moscow International Biennale for Young Art, and The Elder of Azania was shown at the MoMA in San Francisco, in 2014. In 2015, he received the Standard Bank Young Artist award for Performance Art during the National Arts Festival Grahamstown, in South Africa.

 

 

Image: Courtesy of Athi-Patra Ruga and WHATIFTHEWORLD.

History with AAD

Athi-Patra Ruga

Biographie

Né à Umtata en 1984, Athi-Patra Ruga vit et travaille entre Johannesburg et Cape Town en Afrique du Sud. Après s’être initié au domaine de l’art au Belgravia Art College de Londres, il intègre la Gordon Flack Davidson Academy of Design (Académie de Design) où il poursuit des études de stylisme.

 

Artiste pluridisciplinaire à la croisée de la mode et de l’art contemporain, Athi-Patra Ruga questionne les notions d’identité, d’aliénation, de symbiose entre le corps et l’esprit. Ses performances, vidéos, photographies et créations textiles emmènent les spectateurs dans des univers subversifs et fantastiques teintés de provocation et d’érotisme.

 

Artiste phare de la scène sud-africaine, ses œuvres sont présentées lors de manifestations internationales majeures comme la 55e Biennale de Venise en 2013 ou la Biennale d’art contemporain de Dakar en 2008. Athi-Patra Ruga a exposé ses travaux dans de nombreuses foires, biennales et expositions, telles que, Under Tinsel Sun, l’exposition principale de la troisième édition de la biennale de Moscou pour les Jeunes Artistes ou que, The Elder of Azania, au MoMA de San Francisco en 2014. En 2015, il reçoit le prix du Jeune Artiste pour l’Art de la Performance décerné par la Standard Bank, lors du Festival National des Arts de Grahamstown, Afrique du Sud.

Crédit photo:  Athi-Patra Ruga et WHATIFTHEWORLD.

Histoire avec AAD