African Space Art Project

Tuesday 25 February 2020

The first African artistic exploration of space.

 

In partnership with the Arianespace, EUMETSAT and the World Meteorological Organization, African Artists for Development will send in 2021 the first African artwork in space, a powerful symbol of the continent’s artistic power.

This piece of art will embody the image of a modern, ambitious, optimistic Africa that takes us beyond the stars.

 

 

It will exist in double shapes:

 

1) A spatial form, it will be applied on the Ariane 5 nose-cone.

 

2) A terrestrial form, it will be presented through the continent on the launcher’s headdress model.

 

 

To celebrate the mobilization of the entire African artistic community surrounding ASAP, the artwork sent in the space will include in its frame all the names of the artists who have participated in ASAP funding by donating one of their works.

 

As it is an exceptional commission, the work will be realized by a world-renowned African artist. A selection committee composed by the project partners (AAD, Arianespace, EUMETSAT, World Meteorological Organization), leading members of the world of art, development and the space industry, will be set up in order to fairly choose the artist.

 

This major project is historic and was officially launched at the annual Forum of Abidjan organized by EUMETSAT on September 24, 2018.

The first 100% African act in space

Since 1999, the African continent has embarked upon the space conquest. If the first launch of a communications satellite was done by South Africa in 2018 with the support of NASA, it has now been joined by 7 other countries with a satellite device in orbit.

In 2017 the African space agenda has accelerated with four launches initiated by African countries.

Next step: the launch in 2021 of the first meteorological satellite reserved for the continent:  a fundamental issue to better control weather forecasts.

 

March 4th 2020 : Artistic Committee (composed ofJean Philippe Aka, Gaël Faye, Melissa Goba, Keziah Jones) will choose 3 laureates to present to the jury

 

April 23th 2020 : Jury (composed of representatives of AAD, EUMETSAT and Arianespace) will select the winner

 

The NGO African Artists for Development designed and implemented the African Space Art Project (ASAP), an original programme in partnership with Arianespace, Eumetsat, and the World Meteorological Organization.

 

AAD’s African Space Art Project was born out of the observation that Africa is the continent that emits the least CO2 and yet it is the continent that will suffer the most from global warming. In 2021, an Ariane 5 launcher will launch a new EUMETSAT third-generation geostationary satellite into orbit over Africa to monitor climate and weather changes on the African continent.

 

ASAP wants to demonstrate the strategic importance of such a launch for the people of Africa. This satellite and the data it will provide for the continent is an unparalleled challenge.

 

ASAP has set itself the goal of adorning the fairing of Ariane 5 with a copy of a work of contemporary African art, a historic flag of the power of contemporary African creation serving the future of the continent.

 

An artistic committee made up of 4 personalities from the world of culture and the arts will choose 3 laureates among 100 pre-selected artists. The jury, composed of representatives of AAD, EUMETSAT and Arianespace, will select the winner among the 3 who will be entrusted with a 2-month residency in the EUMETSAT premises (Darmstadt, Germany) in order to create the work that will be transferred to the Ariane 5 headdress.

 

 

Key dates

 

March 4, 2020 – Artistic Committee (Paris)

April 23, 2020 – Jury deliberations (Paris)

 

 

Contacts

 

Anna Duclos – Policy Officer

a.duclos@aad-fund.org

 

 

Website

Accueil

 

 

 

 

The Artistic Committee

 

Jean-Philippe AKA

Committee Chair

 

Born in Côte d’Ivoire in 1972, Jean Philippe Aka is the founder of www.africartmarket.today, an online valuation services for fine and decorative African arts. He also is the editor of the annual Africa Art Market Report.

In 2012, he was a part of UNESCO’s preselection committee for the UN Permanent Memorial to Honor the Victims of Slavery and Transatlantic Trade, won by Rodney Leon, the Haitian-American architect, whose proposal The Ark of Return was unveiled at the United Nations in 2015.

 

Gaël FAYE

Born in Burundi in 1982, Gaël Faye is a French-Rwandan artist and writer. When the Burundi civil war and the genocide of Tutsis in neighboring Rwanda broke out in 1994, Faye fled to France the following year. He studied business and finance and worked in an investment fund in London for two years before deciding to make the leap in music. Influenced by Creole literature and by hip hop culture, he released an album in 2009 as part of the Milk Coffee & Sugar group. In 2013, he released his first solo album Pili Pili on a butter croissant. Recorded between Bujumbura and Paris, it feeds on diverse musical influences: rap tinged with soul and jazz, semba, Congolese rumba, sebene… In 2016, he published his first novel, Petit Pays, winning numerous prizes, including the Fnac, Audiolib and Goncourt high school students’ prizes.

 

Melissa GOBA

Born in South Africa in 1979, Melissa Goba is an artist, writer and curator who has held various positions in the field of visual arts. She is particularly interested in popular culture and its global relationship with Africa. She writes regularly for newspapers and catalogs (including the FIFA catalog in 2010). She has curated numerous projects and was the initial consultant for the Murray & Roberts collection: Standard Bank Young Artist, SASOL Wax Award and the Venice Biennale. She held a Chair at the Arts & Culture Trust (ACT) in South Africa until 2017.

 

Keziah JONES

Born in Nigeria in 1968, Keziah Jones, of his real name Olufemi Sanyaolu, is a singer-songwriter and guitarist. He moved as a teenager to the United Kingdom but is now based in the United States and travels regularly to France and Nigeria.

He invented a new musical style, the Blufunk, first introduced via Blufunk Is A Fact! The style is a mix of those who have influenced him such as Fela, Prince, Jimmi Hendrix and Miles Davis. This mix of funk and acoustic blues was carried by the global success of his single Rhythm is love.

Jones released a series of albums: African Space Craft and Liquid Sunshine followed by the breakthrough of his Black Orpheus album. He most recently released the Nigerian Wood album, which he inaugurated with a series of surprise concerts in the Paris metro stations.

 

 

The prestigious jury of the African Space Art Project is composed of members of the world’s artistic and scientific community. It will meet on Thursday 23rd, April 2020 to select a winner among the three contemporary African artists chosen by the Artistic Committee.

 

Jury’s Chairman:

 

Jean-Hubert MARTIN – Art historian, institution director and curator of international exhibitions

 

Members of the jury:

 

Elise ATANGANA – Independent curator and exhibition producer
Annie COHEN SOLAL – Art Historian
Paul COUNET – EUMETSAT Head of Strategy, Communication and International Relations
Elisabeth GOMIS – Journalist and director
Stéphane ISRAEL – CEO Ariane Space
Daouda KONATE – World Meteorological Organization African Regional Association President Matthias LERIDON – African Artists for Development Co-President
Gervanne LERIDON – African Artists for Development Co-President
Sarah MBI ENOW ANYANG – African Union’s Human Resources, Science and Technology Commissioner
Mehdi QOTBI – President of the National Foundation of Museum of Marocco
Alain RATIER – EUMETSAT Director General

African Space Art Project

mardi 25 février 2020

La première exploration artistique africaine de l’espace.

 

En partenariat avec Arianespace, EUMETSAT et l’Organisation Météorologique Mondiale, African Artists for Development enverra la première oeuvre d’art africaine dans l’espace, symbole fort de la puissance artistique du continent.
Cette œuvre incarnera l’image d’une Afrique moderne, ambitieuse, optimiste qui nous emmène au-delà des étoiles.

 

Elle existera sous une double forme :

 

(1) Spatiale, elle sera appliquée sur la coiffe du lanceur Ariane 5.

 

(2) Terrestre, elle sera présentée à travers le contient sur la maquette de la coiffe du lanceur.

 

Pour célébrer la mobilisation de l’ensemble de la communauté artistique africaine autour d’ASAP, l’œuvre envoyée dans l’espace comportera dans son cadre l’ensemble des noms des artistes qui ont participé au financement d’ASAP en faisant don d’une de leurs œuvres.

Faisant l’objet d’une commande exceptionnelle, l’oeuvre sera réalisée par un artiste africain à la reconnaissance internationale. Un comité de sélection, composé des partenaires du projet (AAD, Arianespace, EUMETSAT, Organisation Météorologique Mondiale), de membres éminents du monde de l’art, du développement et de l’industrie spatiale, sera mis en place afin de procéder équitablement au choix de l’artiste.

Historique, ce projet d’envergure a été lancé officiellement au Forum annuel d’Abidjan organisé par EUMETSAT le 24 septembre 2018.

 

Le premier geste 100% africain dans l’espace

Depuis 1999, le continent africain s’est engagé dans la course spatiale. Si le premier lancement d’un satellite de communication a été effectué en 2018 par l’Afrique du Sud avec le soutien de la NASA, elle a été depuis rejointe par 7 autres pays disposant d’un appareil satellitaire en orbite.

L’année 2017, avec 4 lancements à l’initiative de pays africains, a marqué l’accélération des programmes spatiaux sur le continent.

Prochaine étape : le lancement en 2021 du premier satellite météorologique réservé au continent, enjeu fondamental pour mieux maîtriser les prévisions météorologiques.

 

 

4 mars 2020 : Comité artistique (composé de Jean Philippe Aka, Gaël Faye, Melissa Goba, Keziah Jones) qui sélectionnera les trois artistes présentés au jury


23 avril 2020 :
Jury (composé des représentants d’AAD, ainsi que ses partenaires d’EUMETSAT et d’Arianespace) qui sélectionnera le/la lauréat.e

 

L’ONG African Artists for Development a conçu et a mis en place African Space Art Project (ASAP), un programme original en partenariat avec Arianespace, Eumetsat, et l’Organisation Météorologique Mondiale.

 

Le programme African Space Art Project d’AAD est né d’un constat : l’Afrique est le continent qui émet le moins de CO2 et pourtant il est celui qui souffrira le plus du réchauffement climatique. En 2021, un lanceur Ariane 5 mettra sur orbite au- dessus de l’Afrique un nouveau satellite géostationnaire de troisième génération d’EUMETSAT qui permettra de surveiller les changements climatiques et météorologiques du continent africain.

 

ASAP veut montrer l’importance stratégique pour les peuples africains d’un tel lancement. Ce satellite et les données qu’il fournira pour le continent sont un enjeu sans égal.

 

ASAP s’est donné comme objectif d’orner la coiffe d’Ariane 5 d’une copie d’une œuvre d’art contemporaine africaine, drapeau historique de la puissance de la création contemporaine africaine qui se met au service de l’avenir du continent.

 

Un comité artistique composé de 4 personnalités du monde de la culture et des arts choisira 3 lauréats parmi 100 artistes présélectionnés. Le jury, composé des représentants d’AAD, d’EUMETSAT et d’Arianespace, sélectionnera le lauréat parmi les 3 qui se verra confié une résidence de 2 mois dans les locaux d’EUMETSAT (Darmstadt, Allemagne) afin de créer l’œuvre qui sera transférée sur la coiffe d’Ariane 5.

 

 

Dates clés

 

4 mars 2020 – Comité artistique (Paris)

23 avril 2020 – Délibération du jury (Paris)

 

 

Contacts

 

Anna Duclos – Chargée de mission

a.duclos@aad-fund.org

 

 

Site internet

https://www.africanspaceartproject.com/fr/accueil/

 

 

 

 

 

Le comité artistique

 

Jean-Philippe AKA

Président de la commission

Né en Côte d’Ivoire en 1972, Jean Philippe Aka est le fondateur de www.africartmarket.today, un service d’évaluation en ligne des beaux-arts et des arts décoratifs africains. Il est également le rédacteur en chef du rapport annuel sur le marché de l’art africain.

En 2012, il a fait partie du comité de présélection de l’UNESCO pour le Mémorial permanent des Nations unies en l’honneur des victimes de l’esclavage et de la traite transatlantique, remporté par Rodney Leon, l’architecte haïtien-américain, dont la proposition L’Arche du retour a été dévoilée aux Nations unies en 2015.

 

Gaël FAYE

Né au Burundi en 1982, Gaël Faye est un artiste et écrivain franco-rwandais. Lorsque la guerre civile au Burundi et le génocide des Tutsis dans le Rwanda voisin ont éclaté en 1994, Faye s’est réfugié en France l’année suivante. Il a étudié le commerce et la finance et a travaillé dans un fonds d’investissement à Londres pendant deux ans avant de décider de faire le grand saut dans la musique. Influencé par la littérature créole et par la culture hip hop, il a sorti un album en 2009 dans le cadre du groupe Milk Coffee & Sugar. En 2013, il a sorti son premier album solo Pili Pili on a butter croissant. Enregistré entre Bujumbura et Paris, son album se nourrit de diverses influences musicales : rap teinté de soul et de jazz, semba, rumba congolaise, sebene… En 2016, il publie son premier roman, Petit Pays, qui remporte de nombreux prix, dont les prix des lycéens de la Fnac, d’Audiolib et de Goncourt.

 

Melissa GOBA

Née en Afrique du Sud en 1979, Melissa Goba est une artiste, écrivain et conservatrice qui a occupé divers postes dans le domaine des arts visuels. Elle s’intéresse particulièrement à la culture populaire et à sa relation globale avec l’Afrique. Elle écrit régulièrement pour des journaux et des catalogues (notamment le catalogue de la FIFA en 2010). Elle a été commissaire de nombreux projets et a été la première consultante pour la collection Murray & Roberts : Standard Bank Young Artist, SASOL Wax Award et la Biennale de Venise. Elle a été titulaire d’une chaire au Arts & Culture Trust (ACT) en Afrique du Sud jusqu’en 2017.

 

Keziah JONES

Né au Nigeria en 1968, Keziah Jones, de son vrai nom Olufemi Sanyaolu, est un auteur-compositeur-interprète et guitariste. Adolescent, il s’est installé au Royaume-Uni, mais il est maintenant basé aux États-Unis et voyage régulièrement en France et au Nigeria.

Il a inventé un nouveau style musical, le Blufunk, introduit pour la première fois via Blufunk Is A Fact ! Ce style est un mélange de ceux qui l’ont influencé comme Fela, Prince, Jimmi Hendrix et Miles Davis. Ce mélange de funk et de blues acoustique a été porté par le succès mondial de son single Rhythm is love.

Jones a sorti une série d’albums : African Space Craft et Liquid Sunshine, suivi de la percée de son album Black Orpheus. Plus récemment, il a sorti l’album Nigerian Wood, qu’il a inauguré par une série de concerts surprises dans les stations de métro parisiennes.

 

 

 

Le prestigieux jury d’African Space Art Project est composé de membres du milieu artistique et scientifique mondial. Il se réunira le jeudi 23 avril 2020 afin de sélectionner un lauréat parmi les trois artistes contemporains africains choisis par le comité artistique.

 

Président du jury :

 

Jean-Hubert MARTIN – Historien de l’art, directeur d’institution et commissaire d’expositions internationales

 

 

Membres du jury :

 

Elise ATANGANA – Commissaire et productrice d’exposition indépendante

Annie COHEN SOLAL – Historienne d’art

Paul COUNET – Responsable stratégie, communication et relations internationales, EUMETSAT

Elisabeth GOMIS – Journaliste et réalisatrice

Stéphane ISRAEL – CEO Ariane Space

Daouda KONATE – Président du Conseil Régional Afrique de l’Organisation internationale de la météo

Matthias LERIDON – Co-Président d’AAD Fund

Gervanne LERIDON – Co-Présidente d’AAD Fund

Sarah MBI ENOW ANYANG – Commissaire aux ressources humaines, à la science et à la technologie de l’Union Africaine

Mehdi QOTBI – Président de la Fondation Nationale des Musées du Maroc

Alain RATIER – Directeur Général d’EUMETSAT